UKLA award shortlist and other nominations announced

Three exciting book award nomination lists have recently been announced; the UKLA Book Awards shortlist, the Klaus Flugge Prize longlist, and the Bookseller YA Book Prize shortlist.

UKLA Book Awards 2017

Image result for ukla book awards 2017


The teacher-judged UKLA Book Awards shortlists have been announced with illustrated books in all three ages categories for the first time. This award is unique in that it is entirely decided by teachers who use the shortlisted books with their class to help them decide the winners.

The UKLA Book Awards seek to celebrate children’s books in order to:

  • encourage teachers to increase their professional and personal knowledge of recently published high quality children’s books
  • promote the place of books for young people in all educational settings from nursery to key stage 4

The books selected for the award will be titles that teachers can share with pupils as part of regular classroom experience, eg to:

  • read for pleasure in the teacher’s read aloud programme to the whole class
  • inspire extended response from learners (through discussion, creative interaction or understanding the wider curriculum)
  • be the focus of study (set books, shared and guided reading)
  • enhance all aspects of literacy learning and literary study

Selection committees and teacher judges are asked to look, first and foremost, for well-written, engaging ‘reads’ and, where appropriate, outstanding illustration and design. The winners will be announced in July 2017 at the UKLA International Conference in Glasgow.

The shortlisted titles for 2017 are:

Product Details  

Ages 3-6

The Lion Inside written by Rachel Bright and illustrated by Jim Field (Orchard Books)

There’s a Bear on My Chair written and illustrated by Ross Collins (Nosy Crow)

A Hungry Lion or A Dwindling Assortment of Animals written and illustrated by Lucy Ruth Cummins (Simon & Schuster)

Grandad’s Island written and illustrated by Benji Davies(Simon & Schuster)

Tidy written and illustrated by Emily Gravett (Two Hoots)

The Bear and the Piano written and illustrated by David Litchfield (Frances Lincoln)


Ages 7-11

Little Bits of Sky written by S.E Durrant and illustrated by Katie Harnett (Nosy Crow)

Gorilla Dawn written by Gill Lewis(Oxford University Press)

Pugs of the Frozen North written and illustrated by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre (Oxford University Press)

The Wolf Wilder written by Katherine Rundell and illustrated by Gelrev Ongbico (Bloomsbury)

The Journey written and illustrated by Francesca Sanna (Flying Eye Books)

Time Travelling with a Hamster written by Ross Welford (HarperCollins)


Ages 12-16

The Smell of Other People’s Houses written by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock (Faber &Faber)

The Reluctant Journal of Henry K Larsen written by Susin Nielsen (Andersen Press)

Orbiting Jupiter written by Gary .D. Schmidt (Andersen Press)

Railhead written by Philip Reeve (Oxford University Press)

The Marvels written and illustrated by Brian Selznick (Scholastic)

Fire Colour One written by Jenny Valentine (HarperCollins)


The Klaus Flugge Prize 2017

Image result for klaus flugge award

The Klaus Flugge Prize is new award which began in 2016. The prize is awarded to the most exciting and promising newcomer to children’s book illustration.

Chair of the judges Julia Eccleshare said: ‘It is exciting to be announcing the second set of books in contention for the Klaus Flugge Prize; exciting too that the list is so varied, and that the illustrators use so many different techniques, styles and materials to tell their very different stories. Our longlist features examples of cutting-edge digital art and collage, as well as illustrators working in charcoal, watercolour and pencil. The eye-catching minimalism of books such as Little Red or The Museum of Me sits happily alongside the busy, detailed cartoon-strips of Life is Magic and each illustrator shows phenomenal understanding of the art of storytelling. We are delighted to put these 15 talented artists in the spotlight. (taken from booksforkeeps )

The shortlist will be announced on 17 May 2017 and the winner will be revealed in September 2017.

The Klaus Flugge Prize longlist in full:

The Lonely Giant, Sophie Ambrose, edited by Lizzie Sitton (Walker)

Hannah and Sugar, Kate Berube, edited by Tamar Brazis (Abrams)

Baxter’s Book, Hrefna Bragadottir, edited by Louise Bolongaro (Nosy Crow)

A World of Information, James Brown, written by Richard Platt, edited by Denise Johnston-Burt (Walker)

Animal Surprises, Abbie Cameron, written and edited by Nicola Davies (Graffeg)

Bob the Artist, Marion Deuchars,edited by Elizabeth Jenner (Laurence King Publishing)

The Museum of Me, Emma Lewis, edited by Alice Chasey, (Tate)

Life is Magic, Meg McLaren, edited Libby Hamilton (Andersen Press)

First Snow, Bomi Park, edited by Victoria Rock (Chronicle Book)

Little Mouse’s Big Breakfast, Christine Pym, edited by Louise Bolongaro (Nosy Crow)

Duck Gets a Job, Sonny Ross edited by Alison Ritchie (King’s Road Publishing)

The Journey, Francesca Sanna, edited by Harriet Birkenshaw, (Flying Eye)

Little One, Jo Weaver, edited by Emma Layfield (Hodder Children’s Books)

Hiding Heidi, Fiona Woodcock, edited by Lara Hancock, (Simon and Schuster)

Little Red, Bethan Woollvin, edited by Suzanne Carnell (Two Hoots)


The Bookseller YA Book Prize 2017

The YA Book Prize is awarded annually to the best young adult book written by an author living in the UK or Ireland. Teen readers themselves are involved in the final judging process and many from across the UK and Ireland will be asked to vote for their favourite titles.

The full list of titles on the 2017 shortlist, called the YA 10, is:

Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard (Macmillan Children’s Books)

Chasing the Stars by Malorie Blackman (Doubleday)

The Graces by Laure Eve (Faber Children’s)

How Not To Disappear by Clare Furniss (Simon & Schuster Children’s)

Paper Butterflies by Lisa Heathfield (Egmont)

Orangeboy by Patrice Lawrence (Hodder Children’s Books)

The Call by Peadar O’Guilin (David Fickling Books)

The Monstrous Child by Francesca Simon (Faber Children’s)

Riverkeep by Martin Stewart (Viking)

Crongton Knights by Alex Wheatle (Atom)

The winner will be announced at an awards ceremony at Hay Festival on 1st June 2017. The 2016 winner was Sarah Crossan with her book One.

One by Sarah Crossan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *