Do Universities Accept T-Levels? Your Comprehensive Guide

Smiling university student in a group looking at their T-level exam results


If you’re contemplating T-Levels as a stepping stone to higher education, you’re likely asking, “Do universities accept T-Levels?” The answer isn’t a straightforward yes or no. In this comprehensive guide, we’ll delve into the universities that recognize T-Levels, how these qualifications translate into UCAS points, and much more. Let’s get started!

Are T-Levels Accepted by Universities?

Yes they are, and the trend here is positive: More universities are accepting T-Levels each year, recognizing the blend of academic and practical skills these courses offer.

However, acceptance can be course-specific. Some universities will be happy for you to go to university without A levels using this new qualification, but may need to see that your T-Level qualifications clearly align with the subjects you want to study at uni.

Which Universities Accept T-Levels: A Closer Look

Specialized Institutions, particularly those focusing on vocational or technical education, are more likely to accept T-Levels. These universities see the practical skills gained in T-Level courses as a strong foundation for further study.

Student looking at laptop with a puzzled look on their face

Mainstream Universities are also beginning to accept T-Levels. As the qualifications become more widespread, more universities are opening their doors to students with these credentials.

Do Russell Group Universities accept T-levels?

Russell Group Universities are considered by some as the crème de la crème of UK higher education. However, not all of them accept T-levels. That said, as an increasing number of higher education providers recognize the value of T-Levels – especially for related courses – this might change.

Student with head on their hand staring at a computer looking for an answer

Understanding the T-Level Grading System

T-Levels have their own unique grading system, distinct from A-Levels. Understanding this system is crucial for planning your undergraduate university application effectively. The grading not only affects your UCAS points but also how universities perceive your academic capabilities.

Universities in different regions of the UK may have varying policies regarding T-Levels. Additionally, some courses may specifically require or recommend T-Levels, particularly those in fields like healthcare, engineering, and digital technology.

T-Levels and UCAS Points: What You Need to Know

T-Levels can be converted into UCAS points, which is a significant advantage when applying to universities. The conversion rates vary depending on your T-Level grades and calculating your UCAS points based on this is essential for understanding where you stand in the university application process.

The National Careers Service states that T-Levels are worth the same UCAS points as three A-Levels, making them a strong contender when applying for higher education.

Excited student looking at information on their laptop at university

How many UCAS Tariff points are my T-Levels worth?

In terms of UCAS points, a T-Level can be quite valuable. To give you a clearer idea, let’s break down the UCAS points you can earn based on your T-Level grades:

T-Level GradeUCAS Points
Distinction* 168 points
Distinction144 points
Merit 120 points
Pass96 points

To put this into perspective, an A* at A-Level is worth 56 points. This means that a T-Level Distinction* is equivalent to three A*s at A-Level, making it a highly competitive qualification for university admissions.”


So, to answer the question, “Do universities accept T-Levels?”— yes, most of them do. If you’re currently studying this increasingly popular alternative to A-levels, it’s worth understanding how T-Levels convert into UCAS points, and their unique grading system. Hopefully this info can help you when you come to enter the university admissions process. Good Luck!