Shortlisted books for the UKLA Book Awards 2019

The shortlists for the UKLA book awards were revealed this morning. The UKLA book awards are judged entirely by teachers, who are looking to fulfill certain criteria, including books which can “enhance all aspects of literacy learning”.

Verse novels feature strongly in the shortlists this year, with Moonrise, The Poet X, Long Way Down and Mary’s Monster: Love, Madness and How Mary Shelley Created Frankenstein all included. Two translated works are also shortlisted (Piglettes & The Murderer’s Ape) and an information book in the 3 – 6 category. Here are the lists for each category:


3-6 Category  Younger

After the Fall by Dan Santat

The Last Wolf by Mini Grey

Bob’s Blue Period by Marion Deuchars

Stardust by Jeanne Willis, illustrated by Briony May Smith

The Big Book of the Blue by Yuval Zommer

I Am Bat by Morag Hood


7-11 Category

The Explorer by Katherine Rundell, illustrated by Hannah Horn

Running on Empty by S. E. Durrant, illustrated by Rob Biddulph

Sky Dancer by Gill Lewis

The Wild Robot by Peter Brown

The Murderer’s Ape by Jakob Wegelius, translated by Peter Graves

Kick by Mitch Johnson








12-16 Categorymiddle 2

Moonrise by Sarah Crossan

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedom

Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds, illustrated by Chris Priestly

Piglettes by Clémentine Beauvais

After the Fire by Will Hill

Mary’s Monster: Love, Madness and How Mary Shelley Created Frankenstein by Lita Judge

The winners of the UKLA book awards will be announced on the 12th of July at the UKLA International Conference which is taking place in Sheffield. Best of luck to all involved.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *