Book awards: recent winners and shortlists

The past week has seen lots of activity relating to children’s book awards, with both winners and shortlists being announced.  If you are looking for a book to read over the Easter, this list may give you some ideas…

The winners of the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize were revealed on the 22nd March. Congratulations to the following authors:


Older Fiction and Overall Winner

The Hate U GiveThe Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

“Written in the turbulent wake of police violence in North America, The Hate U Give revolves around Starr Carter, a teenager whose life is split between the affluent school she attends and the much poorer suburb that is her home. Her best friend’s fatal shooting by a police officer abruptly brings those two worlds together, compelling Starr to defend her friend’s memory and force the media to understand the truth behind the tragedy. Wearing a serious message with wit, life and charm, The Hate U Give is an immediate 21st century classic: a book for all.”


Younger Fiction Winner

NevermoorNevermoor: the trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend

“One of the most inventive fantasy novels for children of recent years, Nevermoor simply bursts with magic, intrigue and wonder. Its heroine Morrigan Crow is cursed to die on the eve of her eleventh birthday, but a mysterious visitor named Jupiter North has other ideas. Encompassing strange faraway lands, shadowy hunters, dangerous trials and an epic struggle to avoid the deadly hand of fate, Nevermoor is a thrilling adventure that launches a dazzling new world for readers to lose themselves within.”


Illustrated Books

Secret of Black RockThe Secret of Black Rock by Joe Todd-Stanton

“Erin is a born explorer who dreams of sailing far out to sea to find the secrets held within the distant deep. But her voyages are destined to take her deep into a mystery she never imagined, uncovering the secret that lies behind the long-feared legend of Black Rock. A beautifully evoked story that combines echoes of classic illustrated stories from Tintin and The Moomins to Japanese anime The Secret of Black Rock is both a whirlwind mythical adventure and a powerful reminder of the importance of treasuring and preserving our planet.”



The winners of the Hans Christian Andersen Award were announced on the 26th March. Congratulations to Eiko Kadono from Japan for writing and Igor Oleynikov of Russia for illustration. Read more about their work here.


Meanwhile, the shortlist for the UKLA Book Awards was also announced on 26th March.  The winners will be revealed on the 6th of July. This is an award voted for by teachers.


Age 3-6

The Night Gardener written and illustrated by Eric and Terry Fan (Frances Lincoln)

Odd Dog Out written and illustrated by Rob Biddulph (HarperCollins Children’s Books)

Oi Dog written by Kes and Claire Gray and illustrated by Jim Field (Hodder)

The Darkest Dark written by Chris Hadfield and illustrated by The Fan Brothers (Macmillan)

Colin and Lee, Carrot and Pea written and illustrated by Morag Hood (Two Hoots)

It Starts with a Seed written by Laura Knowles and illustrated by Jennie Webber (Words & Pictures)


Age 7-11

The White Fox written and illustrated by Jackie Morris (Barrington Stoke)

Lesser Spotted Animals written and illustrated by Martin Brown (David Fickling Books)

Yours Sincerely, Giraffe Written by Megumi Iwasa, translated by Cathy Hirano and Illustrated by Jun Takabatake (Gecko Press)

Welcome to Nowhere written by Elizabeth Laird and illustrated by Lucy Eldridge (Macmillan)

Me and Mister P written by Maria Farrer and illustrated by Daniel Rieley (OUP)

The Street Beneath My Feet written by Charlotte Gullian and illustrated by Yuval Zommer (Words and Pictures)


Age 12-16

Encounters written by Jason Wallace (Andersen Press)

Come Apart written by Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan (Bloomsbury)

Alpha: Abidjan to Gare du Nord written Bessora, translated by sarah Ardizzone and illustrated by Barroux (The Bucket List)

Saint Death written by Marcus Sedgwick (Orion)

Frogkisser! written by Garth Nix (Piccadilly Press)

Where the World Ends written by Geraldine McCaughrean (Usborne)


Finally, voting is continuing for the shortlisted books for the Children’s Book Award. Children can vote up until the 18th May, so there is still plenty of time to get the kids involved!



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *