A round up of award winners

As the new academic year gets under way, here is a round up of some great children’s literature that has been recognised as excellent in recent months.


The unique UKLA Book Awards are the only awards judged entirely by teachers.

2017 winners

12 to 16+ category


 The Reluctant Journal of Henry K Larsen by Susin Nielsen

Published by Andersen Press



7 to 11 category

The Journey written and illustrated by Francesca Sanna

Published by Flying Eye Books



3 to 6 category


There’s a Bear on my Chair by Ross Collins

Published by Nosy Crow




The CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Awards are awarded by children’s librarians, and are deemed the gold standard of children’s book prizes. This year, the Carnegie (for an outstanding book written in English for children and young people) is celebrating its 80th anniversary, and the Kate Greenaway (for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people), its 60th anniversary.   To mark these milestones, the web site has a wealth of resources looking back over the archive of past winners— well worth diving in to.

This year’s winners are:




The Branford Boase Award rewards the most promising new writers and their editors for excellence in writing and in publishing. The award is made annually to the most promising book for seven year-olds and upwards by a first time novelist.


The 2017 winner, Beetle Boy, is a locked door mystery, combining humour, detective work, great characters, a strong plot, and a lightly-worn wealth of science, which has been very well received by children and adults alike.




The Little Rebels Book Award is given for radical fiction for children by the Alliance of Radical Booksellers.   The 2017 award goes to Ada Twist, Scientist, by Andrea Beatty and illustrated by David Roberts, published by Abrams Books.



The Marsh Award for Children’s Literature in Translation is presented biennially and recognises the best translation into English of a children’s book published within the previous two years. The purpose of the award is to celebrate the best translation of a children’s book from a foreign language into English, thereby promoting children’s literature across different cultures, making great stories more accessible to young readers. It also highlights the important role of the translator, who can often be overlooked. The 2017 winner is Helen Wang for her translation of Bronze and Sunflower, by Cao Wenxaun, Walker Books, 2016 (translated from Mandarin Chinese).



More awards will be announced as the year progresses. In November, look out for the School Library Association’s Information Book Award and the Guardian’s Children’s Book of the year. In January 2018 (!), expect the Costa and the Lollies (Laugh Out Loud Awards). Following the book awards is a good way to keep up-to-date with excellence in children’s publishing, judged by a range of experts and practitioners in the field: teachers, librarians, critics and, of course, children.








Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *