English 4-11 Award shortlist and Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award winner

A diverse range of books, including non-fiction titles have been selected to represent the best picture books published in 2015 and were chosen by a panel of teachers and Primary specialists. The English 4-11 awards are given to Fiction and Non-Fiction in age ranges 4-7 years and 7-11 years. The four winning books from the list will be chosen by the editorial board of English 4 – 11, the journal for primary teachers published by the English Association and the United Kingdom Literacy Association, from a shortlist selected by a panel of teachers and Primary specialists.







Counting Lions by Virginia McKenna and Katie Cotton, illustrated by Stephen Walton,  Frances Lincoln Children’s Books

Dreams of Freedom by Amnesty International/various, Frances Lincoln Children’s Books

Greenling by Levi Pinfold, Templar Publishing

I Am Henry Finch by Alexis Deacon, illustrated by Viviane Schwarz, Walker Books

I Love This Tree by Anna Claybourne, Franklin Watts

One Day on Our Blue Planet in the Savannah by Ella Bailey, Flying Eye Books

Take Away the A by Michaël Escoffier, illustrated by Kris Di Giacomo, Andersen Press

The Bear and the Piano by David Litchfield, Frances Lincoln Children’s Books

The Crow’s Tale by Naomi Howarth, Frances Lincoln Children’s Books

The First Slodge by Jeanne Willis, illustrated by Jenni Desmond, Little Tiger

The School of Art by Teal Triggs, illustrated by Daniel Frost, Wide Eyed Editions

The Story of Life: A First Book About Evolution by Catherine Barr and Steve Williams, illustrated by Amy Husband, Frances Lincoln Children’s Books

The Wonder Garden by Jenny Broom, illustrated by Kristjana S Williams, Wide Eyed Editions

William Shakespeare: Scenes from the life of the world’s greatest writer by Mick Manning and Brita Granström, Frances Lincoln Children’s Books

The winners will be announced 11th May 2016.



The Astrid Lingard Memorial Award 2016

Author Meg Rosoff is the 2016 recipient of the prestigious Astrid Lingard Award. The award is the biggest international children’s and young adult literature award in the world and previous winners include Maurice Sendak, Philip Pullman, Sonya Hartnett, and Shaun Tan.

The jury’s citation for Meg Rosoff reads:

‘Meg Rosoff’s young adult novels speak to the emotions as well as the intellect. In sparkling prose, she writes about the search for meaning and identity in a peculiar and bizarre world. Her brave and humorous stories are one-of-a-kind. She leaves no reader unmoved.’

Meg Rosoff is most well know for her novel, How I Live Now which won the Branford Boase Award in 2004. She has since written six more YA novels, several picture books, and a novel for adults.


One thought on “English 4-11 Award shortlist and Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award winner

  1. I like the look of all the picture books on the list and will definitely be reading these soon. delighted to see the work of Meg Rosoff being recognised. A clever and original writer who deserves this award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *