The University of Brighton contributed significantly to the initial development of design history as a formal discipline in the late 1970s. Since then, it has been a leading institution for research and teaching in the subject, which is provided at all levels of the curriculum and by internationally recognised experts. The Centre for Design History was established in its current iteration in 2017. Today, our membership includes staff and students at the University of Brighton, including MA and PhD students, and a wide range of Associate Members from around the world, many of whom have undertaken Visiting Research Fellowships with us over the years. Our members work in different schools of the University, and come from different disciplinary and methodological perspectives. We don’t have a physical home, but many of our staff are based in Mithras House, on the Moulsecoomb Campus. We currently have two Co-Directors, Dr Megha Rajguru and Dr Claire Wintle, and an administrator, Georgina Le Breuilly who works with us 1 day a week (usually spread across Wednesdays and Fridays). We also have a Management Board that meets three times a year to oversee the governance of the Centre and support its work.

You might like to find “How we define Design History and what we research” next by clicking here