School of Business and Law

Inspiring journeys to work

Picture of award winners

Brighton Business School lecturers receive excellence award

Each year the University of Brighton give students and staff the opportunity to nominate colleagues and lecturers recognising them for their work with students.
This year, we are proud to say that two of our Brighton Business School lecturers were given awards for their teaching excellence.

Congratulations to all colleagues for their outstanding efforts which were recognised with this year’s Excellence in Facilitating and Empowering Learning Awards.

These annual awards, organised by the university’s Centre for Learning and Teaching, celebrate outstanding contributions to student learning. Nominations were received from staff and students and reviewed by the university’s judging panel.

The awards were announced at the Learning and Teaching Conference, which featured a packed programme with nearly 40 separate presentations and keynote speeches by Professor Debra Humphris (Vice-Chancellor), Professor Stephen Denyer (Pro-Vice-Chancellor Education and the Student Experience) and Professor Mick Healey.

Award winners from left to right: Bhavik Patel, Julie Fowlie, Charlie Lea, Rachael Carden, Helen Stanley, Paul Jobling, Julie Scholes, Jessica Mills, Richard Jacobs, Nadia Terrazini, Caroline Hodges.

This year there were 14 awards, with a very strong field of final applications, all showing how committed our staff are to building on the quality and creativity of learning in the university.
The Business School is delighted that two of our lecturers were awarded awards this year:

Rachael Carden, Senior Lecturer and Course Leader for International Business BSc(Hons)

Rachel was nominated for being incredibly engaging – credible and approachable, as well as offering a huge level of valuable feedback.

Julie Fowlie, Deputy Head of School (Teaching and Learning)

Julie was nominated for the range of activities she has implemented to reach students and develop their skills, through the time and energy she puts into improving their learning experience, and for maintaining contacts with alumni.

Congratulations to all our other colleagues who were recognised this year:

School of Applied Social Science 
  • Dr Matthew Adams, Principal Lecturer
  • Dr Charlie Lea, Lecturer

School of Architecture and Design

  • Gemma Barton, Senior Lecturer

School of Health Sciences

  • Jessica Mills, Senior Lecturer
  • Professor Julie Scholes, Professor of Nursing
  • Helen Stanley, Principal Lecturer

School of Humanities

  • Richard Jacobs, Principal Lecturer
  • Dr Paul Jobling, Associate Professor

School of Pharmacy and Biomolecular Sciences

  • Dr Caroline Hodges, Senior Lecturer
  • Dr Bhavik Patel, Reader
  • Dr Nadia Terrazzini, Senior Lecturer

Student Services

  • Loraine Roberts, Student Support & Guidance Tutor, Hastings campus
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
awardsTeaching excellence

Clare Prust • August 21, 2017

Previous Post

Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published / Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar