Book awards

Winner of the Costa Children’s Book Award announced

Kate Saunders has beaten off competition from Michael Morpurgo, Marcus Sedgwick and Simon Mason to win the 2014 category award with her WW1 book Five Children on the Western Front.

The story is an undisguised tribute to the classic book Five Children and It by E. Nesbit however Saunders sets her story in 1914 with the children now older and involved in the Great War. The return of the magical Psammead after a ten year absence heralds the start of a new adventure which helps the children understand and cope with the horrors of the First World War. A sensitive and thoughtful story for ages 9+.

What the judges said:
“This profoundly moving and magical story tackles the biggest themes – love, family and
friendship – set against the horrors of WWI. Kate Saunders’ astounding achievement is
to have created a modern masterpiece that captures the spirit of a much-loved classic.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Powered by: Wordpress

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar